Yves Klein

New York, NY – In tribute to the artist, who would have been 90 years old this year, Ressource created the Yves Klein® paint inspired by the famous IKB (International Klein Blue). The artisanal industry, the Provencal roots, the research of color and texture, its visual aspect, the technical knowledge, are all common values which made this partnership obvious.

Yves Klein Collection

1 shade

For Ressource, which has always put meaningful partnerships at the heart of its creativity and collections, this unprecedented and symbolic collaboration once again confirms its commitment and its support to the art and creative industry.

After extensive research, Ressource has developed this vibrant and luminous hue, with the support of the Yves Klein Archives.

Click on the sample below to discover the Yves Klein® shade page and the scenarios.

Yves Klein x Ressource Teinte Yves Klein®

What was it about the color Blue that was so fascinating to Yves Klein?

From a very young age, Yves Klein was fascinated by the blue skies of the Mediterranean, so much so that “he resented the birds for making holes in the biggest and most beautiful of all his artwork”.
Aged 19, sitting on the beach in Nice alongside two of his friends, together they decided, to “divide the world amongst themselves”: Armand chose the earth and all its riches, Claude Pascal chose the air, and Yves chose the sky and infinity. Since that night in 1947, the color of the skies, of space and of infinity became Yves Klein’s blue.

What is so special about Yves Klein’s Blue?

In 1956, at the age of 28, Yves Klein singled out the ultramarine blue pigment which is a highly saturated color and according to him “the most perfect expression of blue”.
Yves Klein was fascinated by pure pigment: mat, luminous and of incomparable intensity. Pigments were, for the artist, “the purest form of pictorial sensibility”, the very essence of paint, a volatile, elusive and fragile powder.
Traditional binders would always alter the pigment’s luminescence. So with the help of a chemist, Yves Klein sought to create a binder which would retract as it dried to leave only pure pigment so ultramarine blue could be seen in its original state. It is the binder that gives the paint its brightness.
He invented a color named IKB “International Klein Blue” and patented it with the French Intellectual Property Institution, INPI in 1960.
This “more than blue” blue radiates a colourful vibration. Extraordinarily, it is not only the spectator who sees with his eyes but the spirit which uses the eyes to see.
Whereas some artists merely use color as a purely visual manifestation, Yves Klein gave it a spiritual and mystical dimension.

How did Ressource and Yves Klein come together?

o mark the 90th anniversary, the Yves Klein Archives decided to create an Ultramarine Blue paint based on Yves Klein’s invention. Choosing French decorative paint manufacturer Ressource, was the natural choice. Our company originated in Provence and has craftsmanship at its roots. We have performed extensive research into color, textures and effects. We fully master shades and how to render sensations with specific techniques.
Ressource was therefore the ideal choice of manufacturer capable of developing a high quality decorative paint that could render this Ultramarine Blue with stability.
At Ressource, we believe that painting is an art form combining culture, historical and present times. Creating an interior wall paint in the most iconic of colors in the history of Art was a very exciting challenge!

How did Ressource create the Yves Klein® shade?

This unique shade is unlike any other blue. It is not only a color; it has a specific light and texture so it was essential for Ressource to invent a specific process to render its brightness.
To do so, Ressource used Yves Klein’s very own work and research. Ressource’s laboratory developed a 2-step process: first you apply a specially created under-coat that emulates the binder that Yves Klein used. Its roughness fixes the pigments which enhances the intensity of the paint applied as a second coat.
As is the case for all Ressource paints, our Yves Klein® paint respects the strictest European environmental standards.

The Yves Klein® shade and interior design

The sea and the sky are the first things that come to mind when we think about the color blue. In Yves Klein’s own words, «Blue has no proportion, it goes beyond proportion». This shows how for him the color blue embodied freedom, both as a terrain and as a material.
Our Ressource Yves Klein® shade captures the mystery and magic of this color and that’s what makes this paint so exceptional. This supreme blue is characterised by its unparalleled profundity. Just like Yves Klein’s monochrome paintings, it gives space a new dimension. Its luminescence makes it a radiant shade which will illuminate any interior.
Ever since it was first invented, this color has never ceased to amaze by its timelessness and effortless combination with any style. Often used in stark contrast with white for a very contemporary look, it can be a powerful statement in a more classical interior and you’ll be surprised how it also matches bold or sober colors in a truly unique way.
This blue invites you to be creative and it is without contest the very essence of Yves Klein’s existence and genius.

About Yves Klein

1928
Nice’s blue sky sees the birth of an artist, Yves Klein, who pays tribute throughout his life to his native city.

1954
At the age of 26, Yves Klein, son of painters whose first vocation was to be judoka, decided to devote his life to Art.

Monochromy
Driven by the idea of “freeing the color from the prison of the line”, Yves Klein turns to monochromy. According to Klein, it is the only way for paint to “see what is visible in the absolute.” Prioritizing the expression of sensitivity more than the figuration of the form, Yves Klein goes beyond any artistic representation and conceives the work of art as the trace of the artist’s communication with the world.

The passion of blue
According to Yves Klein, “Blue has no dimension, it is out of dimension, contrary to the other colors. All colors bring associations of concrete ideas. While blue recalls at most, the sea and the sky, and what it is in the tangible and visible nature, the most abstract.” The blue will become his signature.

1957, creation of IKB
Yves Klein creates the International Klein Blue. From this, “blue more than blue” radiates a colored vibration that engages not only the viewer’s gaze, “it is the mind that sees with the eyes.”

1962, One more star in the sky of Nice
Yves Klein’s life was that of a shooting star: a quest for freedom and audacity that will mark the world of Art considerably.

Yves Klein

En hommage à l’artiste, qui aurait eu 90 ans cette année, Ressource crée la peinture Yves Klein® inspirée du célèbre IKB (International Klein Blue). L’artisanat comme point de départ, l’ancrage provençal, la recherche sur la couleur dans sa matière et son rendu visuel, le savoir-faire technique sont autant de valeurs communes qui ont rendu ce partenariat évident.

Collection Yves Klein

1 teinte

L’artisanat comme point de départ, l’ancrage provençal, la recherche sur la couleur dans sa matière et son rendu visuel, le savoir-faire technique sont autant de valeurs communes qui ont rendu ce partenariat évident.

Pour les 20 ans de la Maison Ressource, qui a toujours placé des rencontres fortes au coeur de sa créativité et de ses collections, cette collaboration inédite et symbolique affirme une fois de plus son engagement et son soutien au milieu de l’Art et de la Création.

Cliquez sur l’échantillon ci-dessous afin de découvrir la page de la teinte Yves Klein® ainsi que les mises en situation.

Yves Klein x Ressource Teinte Yves Klein®

D’où vient la fascination d’Yves Klein pour le Bleu ?
Dès son enfance, Yves Klein est fasciné par le ciel bleu de la Méditerranée, au point d’en vouloir aux oiseaux “qui essayaient de faire des trous dans la plus belle et la plus grande de mes oeuvres”.
A l’âge de 19 ans, sur la plage de Nice, lui et deux de ses amis choisissent de « se partager le monde »: à Armand revient la terre et ses richesses, à Claude Pascal l’air, et à Yves le ciel et son infini. Depuis cette nuit de 1947, le bleu couleur du ciel, de l’espace et de l’infini devient la couleur d’Yves Klein.

En quoi le Bleu d’Yves Klein est-il si particulier ?
En 1956, à l’âge de 28 ans, Yves Klein sélectionne le pigment bleu outremer, extrêmement saturé, qui est selon lui « la plus parfaite expression du bleu ».
Yves Klein est fasciné par le pigment pur, mat et lumineux, d’une intensité incomparable. Essence même de la peinture, poudre volatile, insaisissable et fragile, le pigment exprime selon l’artiste « la sensibilité picturale à l’état pur ».
Les liants traditionnels qui permettaient de fixer les pigments sur le support altéraient toujours leur éclat. Avec l’aide d’un chimiste, Yves Klein parvient à mettre au point un médium qui se rétracte en séchant, laissant ainsi apparaître le pigment pur. Le bleu outremer est ainsi perçu dans toute son identité originelle. C’est ce fameux liant qui confère à la peinture toute sa luminosité.
Cette invention est nommée IKB « International Klein Blue » et a été déposée à l’INPI en 1960.
De « ce bleu, plus que bleu », irradie une vibration colorée. Hors du commun, il n’engage pas seulement le regard du spectateur, c’est l’esprit qui voit avec les yeux.
Alors que les artistes utilisent la couleur comme un phénomène purement optique, Yves Klein lui donne une dimension spirituelle et métaphysique.

Comment s’est passée la rencontre entre Yves Klein et Ressource ?
Pour les 90 ans d’Yves Klein, lorsque les Archives Yves Klein ont souhaité développer la peinture bleu outremer créé par Yves Klein, leur choix s’est tout naturellement porté sur le fabricant français Ressource.
L’artisanat comme point de départ, l’ancrage provençal, la recherche de la couleur dans sa matière et son rendu visuel, sans oublier la maîtrise de la teinte et de sa sensation par la technique.
Ces raisons ont fait de Ressource le fabricant idéal capable de développer une peinture qualitative restituant de manière stable le fameux Bleu Outremer. Pour Ressource, la peinture est un art qui se nourrit de culture et d’histoire autant que de l’esprit de son époque. Développer la plus célèbre des couleurs de l’histoire de l’Art en peinture murale était un défi passionnant.

Comment Ressource a mis au point la teinte Yves Klein® ?
Cette teinte si spéciale et qui se démarque tant des autres bleus, n’est pas seulement couleur, elle est aussi lumière et matière. Il était donc primordial pour Ressource de mettre au point un procédé innovant pour retrouver cet éclat extraordinaire.
Pour ce faire, Ressource s’est inspirée du travail et des recherches d’Yves Klein. Le laboratoire Ressource a mis au point un procédé en 2 étapes indissociables : une sous couche spécialement développée et comparable à l’action du liant qu’Yves Klein utilisait. Elle permet grâce à sa rugosité de fixer le pigment et de restituer toute l’intensité de la peinture appliquée dans un second temps.
Tout comme l’ensemble de la gamme Ressource, la peinture Yves Klein® respecte les normes environnementales européennes les plus exigeantes.

La teinte Yves Klein® et la décoration ?
La mer, le ciel, sont les premières associations d’idées qui nous viennent à l’esprit quand nous pensons au bleu. Selon Yves Klein, « le bleu n’a pas de dimension, il est hors dimension », c’est dire à quel point il voyait dans le bleu à la fois un terrain et un matériau de liberté.
La teinte Yves Klein® de Ressource, a ce côté mystérieux et magique qui la rend si exceptionnelle pour une peinture. Ce bleu suprême se caractérise par sa profondeur inégalable. A l’image des monochromes d’Yves Klein, elle ouvre une nouvelle dimension à l’espace. Son aspect luminescent en fait une teinte radieuse qui apportera lumière à tous les espaces.
Cette couleur qui ne cesse de fasciner depuis sa création, a la force d’être intemporelle et de s’associer avec tous les styles. Si elle est souvent utilisée dans des contrastes forts avec du blanc, pour un esprit contemporain, sa vibration peut apporter de la force à un intérieur classique et vous serez surpris de la voir se marier à des teintes puissantes ou sobres qu’elle ponctuera par sa dimension inclassable.
Ce bleu invite à la créativité et c’est sans conteste l’essence même de son existence et du génie d’Yves Klein.

À propos d’Yves Klein

1928
Le ciel bleu de Nice voit naître un artiste qui lui rendra hommage tout au long de sa vie : Yves Klein.

1954
A 26 ans, ce fils d’artistes peintres qui avait comme première vocation d’être judoka, décide de consacrer sa vie à l’Art.

La Monochromie
Animé par l’idée de « libérer la couleur de la prison de la ligne », Yves Klein se tourne vers la monochromie. C’est pour lui la seule manière de peindre permettant de « voir ce que l’absolu avait de visible ».
Privilégiant l’expression de la sensibilité plus que la figuration dans la forme, Yves Klein va au-delà de toute représentation artistique et conçoit l’oeuvre d’art comme la trace de la communication de l’artiste avec le monde.

La Passion du Bleu
Selon Yves Klein, « Le bleu n’a pas de dimension, il est hors dimension, tandis que les autres couleurs, elles, en ont. Toutes les couleurs amènent des associations d’idées concrètes. Tandis que le bleu rappelle tout au plus la mer et le ciel, ce qu’il y a de plus abstrait dans la nature tangible et visible ». Le bleu deviendra ainsi sa signature.

1957, création de l’IKB
Yves Klein crée l’International Klein Blue. De ce « bleu plus que bleu » irradie une vibration colorée qui n’engage pas seulement le regard du spectateur, « c’est l’esprit qui voit avec les yeux ».

1962, une étoile de plus dans le ciel de Nice
La vie d’Yves Klein aura été celle d’une étoile filante : une quête de liberté et une audace qui marqueront considérablement le monde de l’Art.